Home Q News Entertainment Ready for the “Billboard” Music Awards Tonight?

Ready for the “Billboard” Music Awards Tonight?


Dick Clark Productions(NEW YORK) — The Weeknd is the leading nominee for this year’s Billboard Music Awards, taking place tonight in Las Vegas.

The R&B singer earned nominations in 16 categories, including Top Artist and Top Male Artist. Fellow Canadian Justin Bieber is a finalist in 11 categories, while rappers Fetty Wap and Drake will both compete in 10 categories. Pop stars Adele and Taylor Swift each have eight nods.

Hosts Ludacris and Ciara say what makes the Billboard Music Awards different from other awards shows is it’s focus.  “Because it’s the people that vote,” Ludacris tells ABC Radio. “When it comes to the charts, every artist is constantly looking at the Billboard charts but this award show has been about the people, for the people, by the people for decades.”

Adds Ciara, “I remember my first song, ‘Goodies,’ being number one for eight weeks on the Billboard chart and it was pretty huge.”

Of course, the BBMAs are as much about the performances as they are who wins.  This year’s telecast will feature live performances by artists including Justin Bieber, DNCE, Ariana Grande, Demi Lovato, Pink, Rihanna, Britney Spears, Meghan Trainor, and Lukas Graham, and collaborations with Fifth Harmony featuring Ty Dolla $ign, Nick Jonas with Tove Lo, and Blake Shelton and Gwen Stefani. Madonna will perform a Prince tribute.

The list of high-profile presenters includes Kate Beckinsale, Priyanka Chopra, Laverne Cox, Mark Cuban, new Bachelorette star Jojo Fletcher, Lucy Hale, Halsey, Heidi Klum, Kelly Rowland, Seal, Tyrese, and Zendaya.  They join previously-announced presenters Jessica Alba, Kristen Bell, Mila Kunis, Ashton Kutcher, Steven Tyler, Keke Palmer, Rebecca Romijn, The Walking Dead’s Lauren Cohan and Taylor Swift squad member Serayah.

The 2016 Billboard Music Awards will be held at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas tonight at 8:00 ET, broadcast live from coast-to-coast on ABC.

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.