Home Q News Music News “The Voice” recap: Artists from Blake Shelton and Jennifer Hudson’s teams advance...

“The Voice” recap: Artists from Blake Shelton and Jennifer Hudson’s teams advance to the top 12


NBC UniversalThe live playoffs began on Monday night’s The Voice, with the six artists each from Blake Shelton and Jennifer Hudson‘s teams performing for a spot in the top 12. Adam Levine and Miley Cyrus’ teams will perform on Tuesday.

In a slight change from last season, it was up to each coach to determine which three artists from his or her team would represent them in next week’s live shows, where the power will shift to America’s vote.

Also, host Carson Daly revealed that before the show, each coach got to pick a “comeback artist” from his or her team to rejoin the competition. Shelton chose Natalie Stovall and Hudson picked Lucas Holliday.

The artists advancing to the top 12 after Monday’s show are:

Team Blake: Keisha Renee, Red Marlow and Chloe Kohanski

Team Jennifer: Davon Fleming, Noah Mac and Shi’Ann Jones

First up were the six members of Team Jennifer:

Davon Fleming led off with JHud’s “I Am Changing,” from the film Dreamgirls, followed by Hannah Mrozak – stolen from Adam’s team — singing Kesha’s “Learn to Let Go.” Next, was Hudson’s comeback artist, Lucas Holliday, with “The Beautiful Ones” by Prince & the Revolution; 15-year-old Shi’Ann Jones offered Ariana Grande’s “Tattooed Heart”; and worship leader and drag queen Chris Weaver belted out Marlena Shaw’s “California Soul.” Noah Mac, 17, rounded things out, tackling Phil Collins’ “In the Air Tonight.”

Jennifer saved Fleming, Mac and Jones. It was the end of the road for Mrozak, Holliday and Weaver.

The six artists for Team Blake were next:

Red Marlow led off with Vern Gosdin’s “Chiseled in Stone,” followed by Chloe Kohanski – stolen from Miley’s team – tackling Cyndi Lauper’s “Time After Time.” Blake’s’ comeback artist, Natalie Stovall, broke out her fiddle for Garth Brooks’ “Callin’ Baton Rouge,” followed by Esera Tuaolo with LeAnn Rimes’ “How Do I Live.” Mitchell Lee covered “Heaven” by Bryan Adams; and country/soul singer Keisha Renee closed out the night by putting her spin on The Judds’ “Love Can Build a Bridge.”

Blake saved Keisha, Red and Chloe. Natalie, Esera and Mitchell were sent packing.

The Voice returns Tuesday night at 8 p.m. ET on NBC.

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.